Executive Committee

Executive Committee

Each committee member represents themselves on the committee and being listed below does not necessarily relate to the official views of their organizations.

Keri Doggett

Teach Democracy

Alex Edgar

Student, UC Berkeley

Les Francis

Former Deputy Chief of Staff, President Jimmy Carter

Dave Gordon

Sacramento County Superintendent of Schools

Michelle Herczog, Ed.D.

Past President, National Council for the Social Studies

Bill Honig

Former California Superintendent of Public Instruction

Elaine Ikeda

Executive Director, LEAD California

Fred Jones

Legislative Analyst, California Council for the Social Studies

Michael Matsuda

Superintendent, Anaheim Union High School District

Beth Miller

President and CEO, Miller Public Affairs Group

John Minkler

Founder and CEO, Civic Education Center

Stephen Morris

CEO, Civic Education Center

Bob Nelson

Superintendent, Fresno Unified School District

Benicio Orsua


Dan Schnur

UC Berkeley Institute of Governmental Studies

Morley Winograd

Senior Fellow, USC Annenberg’s Center for Communication Leadership and Policy

Bethany Zhao